Drawing – A Process that Starts with a Mark..

I would really like to thank my good friend Deanna Gracie, not only is she a dear friend but a fabulous Jewellery Designer living in South Shore Christchurch … http://www.nzjewellerydesign.com/news-blog for inspiring me to get back to drawing again ! 

I have a habbit of wherever I go I seem to collect interesting objects… so I have started out to draw some of the interesting things I have collected.

Just a quick tip!  sometimes it is easier to take a photo of what you are drawing to see it in a 2 dimensional way rather than the 3d way we see from our perspective… looking back at these quick sketches I can see lots of things that I needed to do to make them more 3d etc… but must admit haven’t drawn in a very long time… so will be trying to draw one a day for a while and will post on here.. will be interesting to look back and see the improvement over time 😉

Still life drawings

My entrance to the art world started about 36 years ago as a child…. “drawing”.

In those days I didn’t start out by drawing objects or  still life as I now know it, but used to copy from a favourite Walt Disney Book!

I have fond memories sitting for hours upon hours drawing, sketching, rubbing out, sketching some more and then adding colour to my finished sketches.   Then as I started High School I fell in love with the process of Art  and Painting, I painted my way through School, but  life flies by so quickly and as our lives get busier and busier, work, marriage and then family, over time I grew away from painting.  When my children were young around 5 and 10 I picked up a paint brush for the first time in years! and like an old glove I just slipped right back into it!

Who would have thought that sitting at my kitchen table at  7 yrs old nearly 36 years ago would have attributed to my major passion and focus in life today!

Thank you Deanna for 1st being a great friend and 2nd for reminding me of my Art Roots ! and allowing me to return to them for a while and share them with you all!  

Leave a Reply

